Former Minister of Niger Delta and ex-governor of Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio, has emerged as the victor in the race for the Senate President position in the 10th Assembly, defeating Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari, the former governor of Zamfara State.

Senator Ali Ndume nominated Akpabio for the role of Senate President, presenting a comprehensive biography highlighting Akpabio’s accomplishments as the former governor of Akwa Ibom.

On the other hand, Senator Ishaku Abbo nominated Senator Abdul Aziz Yari for the esteemed position.

It is important to note that the All Progressives Congress (APC) had designated the South-South region as the rightful holder of the Senate President position in the 10th Assembly, with Senator Godswill Akpabio as their preferred candidate. Additionally, Senator Jubrin Barau from the North West was chosen as the favored candidate for the deputy Senate President position.

However, this designation encountered opposition from several lawmakers, including prominent figure Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari, who opposed the decision.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this website? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email